Archived: 10th graders who report smoking cigarettes in the past 30 days
Tobacco use remains the number one preventable cause of early death in Washington. Statewide, about 40,000 youth aged 11-17 currently smoke and about 32 youth begin smoking every day. Almost all adults smoking today started before they were 18 years old. Teens who smoke suffer from shortness of breath, and are more likely to use alcohol, marijuana, and cocaine. Washington’s future depends on the health of our children. We want the next generation to be the healthiest ever. Preventing youth from starting to smoke is one of the most important things we can do.
In 2016, about 6.3% of 10th grade students reported smoking cigarettes in the past thirty days. This number has gone down a lot in the last fifteen years. There are some groups of youth with much higher rates of smoking, such as American Indian/Alaska Natives.
Creating smoke-free places.
- Educating communities on the importance of having rules that ban smoking and other tobacco use in places where kids gather like schools, parks, and other public places.
Educating tobacco retailers.
- Conducting compliance checks and educating retailers about not selling tobacco products to minors.
Supporting schools in prevention activities.
- Increasing substance abuse prevention programs in schools and consulting with all school districts on updating their smoking policies to include the use of e-cigarettes.
- Don’t start smoking.
- If you do smoke, try to stop and encourage your friends and family members to do the same.
- Quitting can be difficult. Visit this website for help.
- Don't use e-cigarettes, e-pens or vaping devices. For more information about these products, visit this website .
Parents and guardians.
- If you smoke, try to stop. This includes c-cigarettes or vaping devices. Quitting is difficult. Call the Washington State Quitline at 1-800-784-8669, visit this website or download the new SmartQuit app. For more information about e-cigarettes, e-pens or vaping devices visit this website.
- Talk with your children about smoking and urge them not to start. Visit StartTalkingNow.org for help talking to your child.
- If your child does smoke, learn about resources that can help them quit by visiting this website.
- Ask for identification on all tobacco sales.
- Follow the law. Don’t sell tobacco products to people under 18 years old.
- Don’t put tobacco products and advertising where children can see it.